Cure for a Weary Heart

Sometimes I just get tired.

Tired of life in general. Tired of walking and talking and trying. Tired of smiling and striving for success. Tired of the bad news. Tired of the competition. Not really ‘done with it.’ Just…tired.

You say I should probably get some sleep. And, yes, that will likely help a ton. Sleep always helps.

But I’ve discovered a better remedy. Something that is abundantly more satisfying than sleep. I have to remind myself of it often, but there are still many, many days that I forget it.

Grace.

That’s right. Grace is the best remedy for a tired heart. Because after a long day of just striving to please Him–and usually failing miserably–I have to remind myself that God doesn’t need me. He wants me.

Yes, the Bible tells us to run the race and put on the armor of God. But it also says to rest in Jesus.

Come unto Me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. –Matthew 11:28

I need to stop trying so hard to be the best at life that I can possibly be. Because it’s not about being the best or doing the best. It’s about being His. It’s about choosing to be His. It’s about simplicity, and humility, and love. He’s already done the hard work. He’s already paved the path. All we have to do is pick up our cross and follow in the shadow of His glory.

Take My yoke upon you, and learn of Me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light. –Matthew 11:29-30

2 comments

Leave a Reply

